All keynotes have confirmed their coming per February, 18 2017

Name Description
Matti Rossi , President of The Association for Information Systems 2017/2018.

Matti Rossi is a professor of information systems at Aalto University School of Economics. He has worked as research fellow at Erasmus University Rotterdam, visiting assistant professor at Georgia State University, Atlanta and visiting researcher at Claremont Graduate University. He has been the principal investigator in several major research projects funded by the technological development center of Finland and Academy of Finland. His research papers have appeared in journals such as MIS Quarterly, Journal of AIS, Information and Management and Information Systems. He has been a senior editor of JAIS and Database for Advances of Information Systems and he is past editor of Communications of the Association for Information Systems. Matti Rossi is a member of IEEE, ACM and AIS.

Ahmed Imran, PG IT Program Coordinator, School of Engineering and Information Technology, University of New South Wales, Australia

Dr Imran is an Information Systems (IS) researcher with special interest in the Strategic use of IT, eGovernment, IT for development/ developing countries (ICT4D), the socio-cultural impact of ICT and organizational transformation impacted by ICT. His transition to academia is motivated by passion and personal experiences, where his PhD thesis gained an in-depth understanding of impediments to eGovernment in LDCs and provided a solution to the complex jigsaw puzzle leading to a prescriptive model for successful e-government. D Imran’s research has proven to bring real-world applications to the table, something that cemented its importance and relevance in the eyes of the research community. This recognition was further reflected through the award of prestigious ANU Vice Chancellor’s award in 2010 followed by numerous invitations to international/national forums/universities. His recently published textbook on eGovernment Management for Developing Countries (with Gregor & Turner) is making a further impact on the developing world through knowledge transfer.

Research Interest

Dr Imran’s research focuses on developing theoretical models using socio-technical artefacts for ICT interventions for development, both for public and private organizations, following interpretive and action design research methods. He investigate the contextual factors exploiting local assets (knowledge and artefacts) that are most effective both as an inhibitor and as a facilitator for IT system design and innovation to provide maximum value. While principally an IS researcher, Dr Imran’s research experience provides valuable insight on socio-cultural context of IT interventions, resulting in interdisciplinary research opportunities.


Caroline Chan, The president of Australian Council Australian Council of Professors and Heads of Information Systems (ACPHIS)

Professor Chan has chaired various academic and industry projects including the Management of Food and Grocery Distribution in the event of a Human Influenza Pandemic in 2007, the development of National Food Composition Database in 2010 (Scoping Study) and 2011/12 (Pilot implementation) and the development of the GoScan smart phone application in 2010.

Professor Chan speaks regularly in academic and industry events and has received numerous services awards for industry-associated projects including GS1 Recognition of Excellence Award for Academic Advancements in Supply Chain Management in 2007. Professor Chan was a member of the Australian Federal Government’s Low Value Parcel Processing Taskforce in 2012/2013 and a chair of international panel for the World Bank project in 2014/2015.

Professor Chan has over 20 years teaching experience and she teaches in the area of Business IT and Supply Chain Management in Melbourne and overseas. In recognition of her innovative teaching approaches, Professor Chan received National Carrick Australian Citation Award for outstanding contributions to student learning in 2006.

Caroline is currently the president of Australian Council Australian Council of Professors and Heads of Information Systems (ACPHIS), the peak body established to represent Australian Information Systems academics in matters of national and international importance.